​I saw rage in his eyes, he was a living version of sango the Yoruba god of fire from what I’ve read. His athletic build & well groomed beard that caught and still has my eyes till this very moment now seem to be exaggerating his anger, making him look vindictive.

I’ve never seen Soji look this angry except for the day I was duped 750k out of which 400k was his money that Max came to pay, Max has been owing Soji since I knew Soji. It was a miracle that he brought the money. (I think I should thank Naira bet for that tho).

Soji and I were that romantic couple that played like secondary school lovers, but I know I’m a mess in the head compared to Soji’s calculated and principled self. 

He has been the perfect husband you could ever ask for, I even had to tell him to stop buying flowers that I’m not a bee. He insisted on doing almost everything that’ll please me. 

Tonight’s Soji isn’t the perfect gentle man I fell for, the doctor made me tell him I’ve been taking birth control pills to avoid conception. 

SHIDIMMA, where the hell is my belt!!!! Soji’s once sexy voice has filled the parlor with fear and panic. His Yoruba accent on my name is now so obvious thanks to this anger, every other day, he has always been consciously using Chi instead of Shi. But today isn’t one ordinary day.
He walked briskly to me, as I sat beside the water dispenser sobbing because of selfishness and well, stubbornness.

He is wearing just singlet, one hand on his trouser preventing it from falling and the other hand on his leather belt. 

Mere looking at him sends shivers down my spine. I never thought this day would come.

As i close my eyes and throw my head back, I feel a cold slap on my cheek. 

I opened my eye to see if it was the steel from the belt that touched me. Just to observe Soji was getting dressed to leave the house by 1am. 

Reminiscing on what I thought was a slap, it actually was a drop of water from the dispenser. 

That self discipline, respect for women and restraint, some of the numerous traits that attracted me to this man. 

Why was I so selfish not to have kids for this man? I’m so embarrassed for having done what I did. For Christ’s sake, I want my kids to be more of Soji than me! 

*ring ring* Soji’s phone is vibrating on the dining.

“Nwa Nne” calling. what the hell? Have I been so blind to have ignored all these? I taught soji little Igbo, thought he would never grasp it but obviously he had grasped little to translate “baby mama” in the literal sense  to “nwa  nne “! 

*to be continued *